DCC Certified Document Controller Training Course

Best Practices in Document Control



Course summary

This course covers the best practices of Document Control with a very practical and hands-on approach, and it goes through all the components, the core expert topics and activities of the profession.

 

It also defines the theory, the scope, the boundaries and the ethics of the profession.

 

This course is both for:

  • Beginners in Document Control: this course gives a robust foundation for the profession, explains all the tasks and responsibilities, and contains numerous workshops and tutorials. You will acquire competencies that can be applied to day-to-day work.
  • Experienced Document Controllers: Most Document Controllers learnt the discipline 'on-the-job'. This course consolidates basics, formalises knowledge and deepens competences. It allows experienced Document Controllers to compare their experience with common / best practices and to get recognised through the certification examination.
  • And for everyone, it's a great opportunity to network and share experience with other Document Control professionals.

At the end of this course, professionals can get certified by taking our internationally recognized certification examination.

 

Download course brochure

DURATION

2.5 days

COURSE FEE

In USD

In GBP

In EUR

$1300

£ 930

€ 1068

 

Other Currencies

All Currencies

Price

US Dollars

1300 USD

Pound Sterling

 930 GBP

Euros

1068 EUR

Singapore Dollars

1800 SGD

Malaysian Ringgits

4850 MYR

Australian Dollars

1645 AUD

Canadian Dollars

1575 CAD

In client premises

On demand



Course content

1. Introduction to Document Control

What is Document Control and the role of the Document Controller

 

2. The Basics of Document Control

Document control checks and gatekeeping

 

3. Document Identification

How to make sure that document are identifiable

Means of identification (numbering, metadata, document description, file naming…)

 

4. Document Classifying, Filing & Information Security

How to organise documents and manage information security

 

5. Documents Lifecycle

What is the lifecycle of technical documents? Document creation, modification, review cycle, comments, approval: How to manage documents at each step of their life

How to avoid misuse of obsolete documents

 

6. Document Distribution

How to ensure an efficient and relevant distribution of documents

  

7.A Project Document Control

Specifics of Project Document Control ; Managing deliverables; Flow of project documents

Interactions with Client, Contractors, Sub-contractors, Suppliers, Vendors

Master Deliverable Register (MDR)

 

7.B Unit 7-B: As-Built and Final Documentation

Specifics of As-Built / Final Documentation

Document Controller tasks during As-Built phase

 

8. Document Control Procedures and Specifications

Why do we need procedures? Which subjects should be included in a Document Control Procedure? 

 

9. Electronic Document Management Systems

Which software packages are used by Document Controllers? What are the functionalities of Document Control Software Packages? How can it help Document Controllers?

 

10. Interactions with project teams, engineering teams, managers

How to support technical teams? How to manage work pressure? How to manage difficult situations?

 

Certification Examination 

The course includes an individual 3-hour certification examination (optional, but included in the course fee). 

COURSE CATALOGUE

 

What course to attend?


Locations & Dates

   All our courses are delivered in English language

 

Face-to-Face

2020

Jan

Feb

Mar

Apr

May

Jun

Jul

Aug

Sept

Oct

Nov

Dec

UK & Europe

London

Face-to-Face sessions postponed to 2021 due to Covid-19 pandemic (disruptions to travelling and gatherings)

 

In the meantime, our Live online virtual classrooms are available

Amsterdam

 

Aberdeen

Asia

Singapore

Kuala Lumpur

Australia

Perth

Middle East

Dubai

America

Houston

Toronto

Below are dates for 2021:

2021

Jan

Feb

Mar

Apr

May

Jun

Jul

Aug

Sept

Oct

Nov

Dec

UK & Europe

London

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

27-29

 

 

 

Amsterdam

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

29-1

 

Asia

Singapore

 

 

 

 

 

 

5-7

 

 

 

 

 

Australia

Perth

 

 

 

 

 

 

12-14

 

 

 

 

 

MiddleEast

Dubai

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

21-23

 

America

Houston

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4-6

 

 

Virtual Classroom (live online)

Exceptionally, during the Coronavirus disruptions, this course is proposed in a virtual classroom option (live online, instructor-led).

 

See below upcoming live online sessions for this course. 


Live online course sessions (virtual classroom)

To check other timezones, you can use the TimeZoneConverter tool 

 

Sessions dates

What time will the session be if you are based in:

Europe, UK & Middle East

America

Australia & Asia

Option 1

From Monday 16-Nov

to Friday 20-Nov-2020

 

*FULL*

***Optimized for this timezone***

4 early mornings + half-day certification examination

e.g. London time 7am to 10.30am

e.g. Paris, Berlin time 8am to 11.30am

e.g. Dubai time 11am to 2.30pm

 

4 nights + half-day certification examination

e.g. US Central time 1am to 4.30am

e.g. US Mountain time 12pm to 3.30am

e.g. US Pacific time 11pm to 2.30am

***Optimized for this timezone***

4 afternoons + half-day certification examination

e.g. Perth, Singapore time

3.00pm to 6.30pm

e.g. Sydney time 6.00pm to 9:30pm

 

Option 2

From Monday 18-Jan

to Friday 22-Jan-2021

***Optimized for this timezone***

4 afternoons + half-day certification examination

e.g. London time 1.00pm to 4.30pm

e.g. Paris, Berlin time 2.00pm to 5.30pm

e.g. Dubai time 5.00pm to 7.30pm

 

***Optimized for this timezone***

4 early mornings + half-day certification examination

e.g. US Central time 7am to 10.30am

e.g. US Mountain time 6am to 9.30am

e.g. US Pacific time 5am to 8.30am

***Optimized for this timezone***

4 evenings + half-day certification examination

e.g. Perth, Singapore time

9.00pm to 12.30am

 

Option 3

From Monday 1st-Mar

to Friday 5thMar-2021

 

 

 

***Optimized for this timezone***

4 afternoons + half-day certification examination

e.g. London time 3.00pm to 6.30pm

e.g. Paris, Berlin time 4.00pm to 7.30pm

e.g. Dubai time 7.00pm to 8.30pm

 

***Optimized for this timezone***

4 mornings + half-day certification examination

e.g. US Eastern time 10am to 1.30pm

e.g. US Central time 9am to 12.30pm

e.g. US Mountain time 8am to 11.30am

e.g. US Pacific time 7am to 10.30am

4 late evenings + half-day certification examination

e.g. Perth, Singapore time

23.00pm to 2.30am

 

 

Option 4

From Monday 10-May

to Friday 14-May 2021

 

 

 

***Optimized for this timezone***

4 afternoons + half-day certification examination

e.g. London time 1.00pm to 4.30pm

e.g. Paris, Berlin time 2.00pm to 5.30pm

e.g. Dubai time 4.00pm to 7.30pm

 

***Optimized for this timezone***

4 early mornings + half-day certification examination

e.g. US Eastern time 8am to 11.30am

e.g. US Central time 7am to 10.30am

e.g. US Mountain time 6am to 9.30am

e.g. US Pacific time 5am to 8.30am

***Optimized for this timezone***

4 evenings + half-day certification examination

e.g. Perth, Singapore time

8.00pm to 11.30pm

 

Option 5

From Monday 7-Jun

to Friday 11-Jun-2021

***Optimized for this timezone***

4 early mornings + half-day certification examination

e.g. London time 7am to 10.30am

e.g. Paris, Berlin time 8am to 11.30am

e.g. Dubai time 10am to 1.30pm

 

4 nights + half-day certification examination

e.g. US Central time 1am to 4.30am

e.g. US Mountain time 12pm to 3.30am

e.g. US Pacific time 11pm to 2.30am

***Optimized for this timezone***

4 afternoons + half-day certification examination

e.g. Perth, Singapore time

2.00pm to 5.30pm

e.g. Sydney time 4.00pm to 7:30pm

 

To check other timezones, you can use the TimeZoneConverter tool

Course Fee

Please find below the course fee in different currencies:

All Currencies

Price

US Dollars

1300 USD

Pound Sterling

 930 GBP

Euros

1068 EUR

Singapore Dollars

1800 SGD

Malaysian Ringgits

4850 MYR

Australian Dollars

1645 AUD

Canadian Dollars

1575 CAD

In client premises

On demand

If your currency is not listed above: Convert to other currencies 


Stay informed of new dates and locations

Other regular locations include: London (United Kingdom), Aberdeen (United Kingdom), Amsterdam (Netherlands), Singapore (Singapore), Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia), Bali (Indonesia), Jakarta (Indonesia), Perth (Australia), Brisbane (Australia), Dubai (United Arab Emirates),  San Diego (United States), Houston (United States), Vancouver (Canada), Manila (Philippines)


In-Company / In-House Sessions

Consepsys can also provide in-house / in-company / private Document Control training courses



FEEDBACK FROM TRAINEES

Feedbacks from other course participants:

 

 

Liz Nasir, Senior Document Controller for LendLease in Singapore said:

 

" The course explains the core function of Document Control responsibilities, and covers all need to know information that a DC should know. The best thing about the course is that all DC can relate to the subject covered, regardless of their background / industry. A very detailed explanation of how or what are the best practices use in Document Control"

 


More Information

TYPICAL COURSE SCHEDULE

Face-to-Face format

Below is the typical schedule for our face-to-face course sessions in our different course locations around the world:

 

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

00 AM to 5.00 PM

(incl. 1-hour lunch break)

9.00 AM to 5.00 PM

(incl. 1-hour lunch break)

9.00 AM to 12.00 PM

Course

Course

Certification Examination

Live Online format

Below is the typical schedule for our live online course sessions (exceptional during Coronavirus disruptions)

 

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

Day 4

 

After day 4

0.5 day

0.5 day

0.5 day

0.5 day

 

0.5 day

Course

Course

Course

Course

 

Certification Examination


PRE-REQUISITES

  • Functional level in English language

CERTIFICATE

  • A Certificate of Attendance is issued to all participants who attended the course satisfactorily
  • An Examination Pass Certificate is awarded to participants who obtain a pass mark at the Certification Examination 

COURSE OBJECTIVES

By the end of this course, participants will be able to:

  • Champion best practices in Document Control, understand their requirements and their benefits
  • Explain the requirements for Document Control, traceability, auditability, quality, consistency
  • Benchmark / compare their current practices against best practices
  • Identify possible improvements to their current practices / system and contribute more effectively to the success of their organisation
  • Understand the role of the Document Controller, his/her interfaces, the boundaries of the profession
  • Understand the theory and rationale behind Document Control practices
  • Be more proficient and effective in daily Document Control tasks and activities


COURSE PAYMENT

Payment methods:

  • Debit or Credit Card
  • Bank Transfer
  • Paypal

Payment terms:

  • Enrolment is confirmed upon receipt of full payment of the course fee
  • Payment is due within 7 days after registration and issuance of invoice
  • If you would like to pay by instalment, let us know when you enrol - please note that the full course fee will have to be paid before the course


OTHER COURSES

DCA - Advanced Document Control Training Course

DCM - Certified Lead Document Controller Training Course

MGR - Transitioning to a Manager Position

Compare Course Options


We also offer online short course modules (e-learning):

EDC - Short Online Course Modules on Document Control