DCM Certified Lead Document Controller Training Course

Be an effective team leader in Document Control



SUMMARY

The Certified Lead Document Controller course is targeted at existing or aspiring leaders of Document Control teams, or at managers of Document Controllers.

 

It concentrates on the tools, the methods and the approach to efficiently manage Document Controllers, to organise DC activities and tasks, to calculate and distribute workload and to manage stakeholders

 

This course is recommended if:

  • You currently manage a team of Document Controllers: both if you are newly appointed or experienced 
  • You wish to progress your career by leading teams in the future and would like to understand the role and tasks of a Lead Document Controller.
  • If you are sometimes asked to produce a schedule, budget, or resource plan for Document Control tasks

CONTENT

Unit 1: Introduction & Role of the Lead Document Controller

Definition of Document Control

Differentiate the Roles 

Definition of the Role of Lead Document Controller

 

Unit 2: Planning & Organising Document Control Tasks

Methodology for planning & organizing tasks

Workload & Resource Calculation

Planning & Tasks Allocation

Progress Monitoring

Budget planning & monitoring

 

Workshops

Calculate workload & organise tasks for different case studies - several workshops throughout the course

 

Unit 3: Stakeholders Management

Stakeholders Management

Gatekeeping

Communication

 

Unit 4: Implementation of Document Control Systems

Methodology of implementation

Assessment of requirements

Implementation plan

 

Unit 5: Implementation of Document Control Rules

Documenting the Document Control System

Flowcharts

Policies

Internal Procedures & Guidelines

Instructions to Contractors

Document Templates

 

Unit 6: Management of Document Control Team

Team Leading

Motivation

Objectives 

Performance Management

Workload Management

  

The course includes an individual 3-hour certification examination (optional, but included in the course fee) on team leading skills.

 

 

Download Course Brochure

DURATION

2.5 days

COURSE FEE

In USD

In GBP

In EUR

$1300

£ 930

€ 1068

 

Other Currencies

All Currencies

Price

US Dollars

1300 USD

Pound Sterling

 930 GBP

Euros

1068 EUR

Singapore Dollars

1800 SGD

Malaysian Ringgits

4850 MYR

Australian Dollars

1645 AUD

Canadian Dollars

1575 CAD

In client premises

On demand

Early Bird: - 15% if you enroll & pay 200 days or more before the course!

 

FEE INCLUDES

- Course fee
- Tuition fee
- Course Material
- Snacks & refreshments
- Lunch
- Examination fee
- Tax where applicable

 

COURSE CATALOGUE

 

What course should I attend?



PRE-REQUISITES

  • Attendance of Consepsys DCC course very strongly recommended: best practices of DC are not covered in this DCM course (they are covered in the DCC course)
  • Strong experience as a Document Controller and senior Document Controller
  • Strong knowledge of document control principles, rules and practices  
  • Recommended: Experience or Exposure to management of teams and planning of non-routine DC tasks & activities
  • Functional level in English language
  • Basic arithmetic skills (the course and workshops include calculations with a calculator such as additions, subtractions, divisions, multiplications)


Locations & Dates

All our courses are delivered in English language

Face-to-Face

2020

Jan

Feb

Mar

Apr

May

Jun

Jul

Aug

Sept

Oct

Nov

Dec

UK & Europe

London & Aberdeen

Face-to-Face sessions postponed to 2021 due to Covid-19 pandemic (disruptions to travelling and gatherings)

 

In the meantime, our Live online virtual classrooms are available

Asia

Singapore

Australia

Perth

Middle East

Dubai

America

Houston

Below are dates for 2021 (face-to-face)

2021

Jan

Feb

Mar

Apr

May

Jun

Jul

Aug

Sept

Oct

Nov

Dec

UK & Europe

London

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

29-1

 

 

 

Australia

Perth

 

 

 

 

 

 

14-16

 

 

 

 

 

MiddleEast

Dubai

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

23-25

 

America

Houston

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6-8

 

 

Virtual Classroom (live online)

Exceptionally, during the Coronavirus disruptions, this course is proposed in a virtual classroom option (live online, instructor-led).

 

See below upcoming live online sessions for this course. 


Live online course sessions (virtual classroom)

To check other timezones, you can use the TimeZoneConverter tool  

 

Date Options

What time will the session be if you are based in:

Europe, UK & Middle East

Americas

Europe, UK & Middle East

Option 1

From Monday 07-Dec

to Friday 11-Dec-2020

 

***Optimized for this timezone***

4 afternoons + half-day certification examination

e.g. London time 1.00pm to 4.30pm

e.g. Paris, Berlin time 2.00pm to 5.30pm

e.g. Dubai time 5pm to 8.30pm

 

***Optimized for this timezone***

4 early mornings + half-day certification examination

e.g. US Eastern time 8am to 11.30am

e.g. US Central time 7am to 10.30am

e.g. US Mountain time 6am to 9.30am

e.g. US Pacific time 5am to 8.30am

***Optimized for this timezone***

4 evenings + half-day certification examination

e.g. Perth, Singapore time

9.00pm to 12.30pm

 

Option 2

From Monday 12-Apr

to Friday 17-Apr-2020

 

***Optimized for this timezone***

4 afternoons + half-day certification examination

e.g. London time 1.00pm to 4.30pm

e.g. Paris, Berlin time 2.00pm to 5.30pm

e.g. Dubai time 4.00pm to 7.30pm

 

 

***Optimized for this timezone***

4 early mornings + half-day certification examination

e.g. US Eastern time 8am to 11.30am

e.g. US Central time 7am to 10.30am

e.g. US Mountain time 6am to 9.30am

e.g. US Pacific time 5am to 8.30am

***Optimized for this timezone***

4 evenings + half-day certification examination

e.g. Perth, Singapore time

8.00pm to 11.30pm

 

Option 3

From Monday 21-Jun to to Friday 25-Jun-2020

 

***Optimized for this timezone***

4 early mornings + half-day certification examination

e.g. London time 7am to 10.30am

e.g. Paris, Berlin time 8am to 11.30am

 

4 nights + half-day certification examination

e.g. US Eastern time 2am to 5.30am

e.g. US Central time 1am to 4.30am

e.g. US Mountain time 12pm to 3.30am

e.g. US Pacific time 11pm to 2.30am

***Optimized for this timezone***

4 afternoons + half-day certification examination

e.g. Perth, Singapore time

2.00pm to 4.30pm

e.g. Sydney time 4.00pm to 7:30pm

 

To check other timezones, you can use the TimeZoneConverter tool 

Course Fee

Please find below the course fee in different currencies:

All Currencies

Price

US Dollars

1300 USD

Pound Sterling

 930 GBP

Euros

1068 EUR

Singapore Dollars

1800 SGD

Malaysian Ringgits

4850 MYR

Australian Dollars

1645 AUD

Canadian Dollars

1575 CAD

In client premises

On demand

If your currency is not listed above: Convert to other currencies 


Stay informed of new dates and locations

Other regular locations include: London (United Kingdom), Aberdeen (United Kingdom), Amsterdam (Netherlands), Singapore (Singapore), Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia), Bali (Indonesia), Jakarta (Indonesia), Perth (Australia), Brisbane (Australia), Dubai (United Arab Emirates),  San Diego (United States), Houston (United States), Vancouver (Canada), Manila (Philippines)


In-Company / In-House Sessions

Consepsys can also provide in-house / in-company Document Control training courses



FEEDBACK FROM TRAINEES

Feedbacks from other course participants:

 

 

Heidi Lizamore, Senior Document Controller for Premier Oil in Aberdeen (United KIngdom) said:

 

I found this course very applicable to our project scope and my professional experience, and find it very useful. Can't wait to get back to work to implement what I have learned!!"

 


More information

TYPICAL COURSE SCHEDULE

Face-to-Face format

Below is the typical schedule for our face-to-face course sessions in our different course locations around the world:

 

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

00 AM to 5.00 PM

(incl. 1-hour lunch break)

9.00 AM to 5.00 PM

(incl. 1-hour lunch break)

9.00 AM to 12.00 PM

Course

Course

Certification Examination

Live Online format

Below is the typical schedule for our live online course sessions (exceptional during Coronavirus disruptions)

 

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

Day 4

 

After day 4

0.5 day

0.5 day

0.5 day

0.5 day

 

0.5 day

Course

Course

Course

Course

 

Certification Examination


CERTIFICATE

  • A Certificate of Attendance is issued to all participants who attended the course satisfactorily
  • An Examination Pass Certificate is awarded to participants who obtain a pass mark at the Certification Examination 

COURSE OBJECTIVES

By the end of this course, participants will be able to:

  • Calculate workload and plan the team’s work; Be able to provide a structured plan for any Document Control task or project (scope, resources, planning, budget)
  • Understand the steps required and methodology to implement or re-revamp a Document Control System 
  • Understand and manage the Lead Document Controller’s interfaces (managers, contractors, engineers, IT, etc.)
  • Possess a method framework for day to day running of Document Control System and Team
  • Manage a team of Document Controllers (‘human’ aspects, workload, performance, motivation, team objectives, communication)


AUDIENCE

  • Existing or future Team Leaders or Managers of Document Controllers who seek to gain awareness and to understand the various aspects of their responsibilities
  • Career evolution
  • Team Leaders & Managers willing to be challenged beyond their comfort zone

COURSE PAYMENT

Payment methods:

  • Debit or Credit Card
  • Bank Transfer
  • Paypal

Payment terms:

  • Enrolment is confirmed upon receipt of full payment of the course fee
  • Payment is due within 7 days after registration and issuance of invoice
  • If you would like to pay by instalment, let us know when you enrol - please note that the full course fee will have to be paid before the course


OTHER COURSES

DCC - Certified Document Controller Training Course

DCA - Advanced Document Control Training Course

MGR - Transitioning to a Manager Position

Compare Course Options


We also offer online short course modules (e-learning):

EDC - Short Online Course Modules on Document Control